Skip to content

Stretch Your Bones

October 17, 2012

Image

There is a song worthy of infinite repeat on Converge’s new record, All We Love We Leave Behind.  That song is called “Coral Blue” and you can listen to it below:

Were I more capable of jealous rage, the quiet guitar-only section that begins at 2:29 of that song would lead to dire consequences.  I am, however, calming down in my old-age and have been outfitted with an ability to admire from afar.  The silver lining (and how rare are silver linings these days?) is that I will have an up-front and personal vantage from which to watch these elder statesmen.  Our ragtag operation has been kindly given opening act duties for the show, and we will do our best to minimize disappointment.  Should you care to bear witness, get there early and make sure to buy a ticket in advance at Vacation Vinyl or on TicketFly here.

In less yawning news, the digital dust has been cleared away from www.vitriolrecords.com, and a whole slew of new releases (including a pompy romp via hot sexaphonists Comadre) are due out.  Bear witness and eat heartily.

We are still slow as molasses.  Collectively, we are delivering your flora on whirls of heteronormative bar tabs.  This is only a partial truth.

Indebtedly,

AL / DANGERS

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2012 9:26 am

    Sadly that might be the only worthy song on the album, I miss the old Converge, In my opinion now they sound like an average DW or Throatruinner band. They are still very talented musicians but it looks like they missed the mojo some time ago, now it’s just “fast and metal as you can” play.

    • October 18, 2012 4:24 pm

      I would say that, perhaps, it’s more a case of overproducing (not overproduction). There have been a lot of Converge records in the past ten years, and while I think every song is hard to deny (I basically listen to drums over all other things when I listen to music), there are a lot of songs over the past ten years that are, in many ways, interchangeable. That said, watching Ben Koller drum is mindblowing.
      MEfred

  2. Ryan permalink
    October 21, 2012 4:51 am

    Is this the only Converge show you on playing on their tour? This is an amazing line-up, but if you guys happen to play the Philly show on 11/9, that’d be the definite kicker for me to go!

    • October 21, 2012 11:58 pm

      It is with great lament that I do declare: this is the one and only show we are smearing with our dirty presence. Philly, this time of year, is getting nearly uninhabitable anywho. May I suggest permanent relocation to sunnier climes bereft of black ice and wind chill factors? Consider this a nudge in the ribs.

      Humbly,
      Alfredo

  3. October 22, 2012 4:00 am

    Come to NY and play the show in Manhattan. That’s my dream which means it will never come true…

  4. October 29, 2012 9:01 am

    Thanks for the great opening set. Had fun singing along. Shame there weren’t many people in the audience watching, though.

  5. November 2, 2012 6:12 pm

    Glad to see that partial truths site up and running. Everything looks great. I’ll email you some partial truths when I can. I’ve been busy with this story I’ve been writing. Every time I write the pen seems to run out of ink as I try to finish the ending. By the time I find a pen, the paper is unwilling to accept the new ink so I have to start over. The cute japanese man at the stationary store told me this would happen. I thought he was just trying to be silly and inspire me. I told him I had been working on a short story but wasn’t able to finish the ending becau

Leave a Reply

