Skip to content

De Rerum Natura

September 7, 2012

Glorious breath of fresh Friday air.  Non-traditional work weeks of the world unite!  Theoretical texts, Giovanni’s Room, and a Gibson SG guitar to bridge the ruts of the day.  The sliver of this bed that I utilize is in need of an aggressive beating to get the old haunts out of my poorly sleeping head.  Solace in the fact that at least some of the naysaying idiots with whom I share DNA are moving towards a sliver of rationality.

Let me do that again: what the fuck is wrong with us?

How beautiful it is, at least, to see an “Arab American Democrat” shake her head at the stumbling, cancerous, moodfart our this country has become.  Unless, of course, she’s just huffy that America is a Zionist patsy.  What I mean is, I’ve never been one for tongue-biting, but rarely am I so flabbergasted that I speak up/out forthrightly about politicos and the muck they mire in.  Mostly I feel we’re on an unstoppable rocket ship to ruin and, as such, mum’s my word.  However, as the chairman so back-pedaling-ly put it:

“I am here to attest and affirm that our faith and belief in God is central to the American story and informs the values we’ve expressed in our party’s platform.  In addition, President Obama recognizes Jerusalem as the capitol of Israel, and our party’s platform should as well.”

Really?  Well: hrmph.  I know I’m choir-preaching so far as our dusty corner of the interweb is concerned, but perhaps (maybe) two salient points are of value even here:

  1. There is palpable momentum (stubborn, reactionary, misplaced, shallow, miniscule, slight) to arguments against the mixture of church and state these days.
  2. That is a good thing!

Big choices to make, or so we think, in the near future.  My brain tells me that either pill leads deeper down the rabbit hole.  For my part, I like to imagine the world where no one goes to the polls on election day.  Not a single soul.  Just echos in the ballot box, pin drops in the stalls, and an unraveling of national conundrum.  There is a laughter amongst it all, bubbling in no-longer-so-underground arenas, clinging to Old Thoughts from Dead Men like it’s a fountain of youth:

You too, oh earth-your empires, lands, and seas –
Least with your stars, of all the galaxies,
Globed from the drift like these, like these you too
Shalt go. You are going, hour by hour, like these.

-Lucretius, De Rerum Natura

Somehow, playing shows is supposed to supplant the urge to give up in the face of this?  My point is: when yelling is all you know how to do, a fingers-crossed approach may be your (my) only recourse.  In the meantime:

  1. Toynbee Tiles
  2. Partial Truths
  3. I Hate The Kids
  4. Pictures
  5. Interviews

Auf Wiedersehen,

Al / DANGERS

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2012 12:53 pm

    This is unrelated to all of the above, but will you be eastbound anytime in the (near) future? I live in NY and us north-easterners miss you all dearly. (I speak on their behalf). I hope there is news of another mini tour in the north-east soon. Best of luck to you all and I am glad you are repressing your demo 7″ (even though I have it already). XO.

Leave a Reply

