Skip to content

Sloths in La La Land

May 31, 2012

I write this to you with nine digits and a crumpled radius distal bone.  You may, should you desire, refer to such QWERTY antics as “heroic.”  I will not disagree.  And, what’s more, such namecalling will go a long way to allay my sadness at missing Sam McPheeters orate at Booksoup right now.  Sport is the culprit (yet again) for my ailing bones, but I will not recant for my associations thereof: I am addicted to competition and will so be, most likely, until I crawl into the urn.

A roundup of our intermingled lives will yield heavy doses of pairing off, nesting, odd jobs, new careers, and molasses-like momentum (thick, potent, but slow as fuck).  We are (yes) writing a new record, and say that publicly only to encourage the three of you that read this to hold us to our task.  I went to see Ghostlimb, Holy Fever, Touche Amore, Joyce Manor, and Hot Water Music the other day and left feeling excited about the rough tracks infesting my Garageband cache.  Talked to Dave of Holy Fever and it left me feeling excited about human beings associated with this whole “punk” garbage.  He’s manipulating lives from within the trenches in schools all over Mass and it gives credence to production via powerchords.  So.  There is that.

But I’d like to say something more here.  I would like to be the better man and discuss the fact that we are months away from an election and (therefore) shitshow of Americana oversight and uber-emotional and unapologetically emotion-based decision making.  I would like to live in a place that allows nation-wide equality to all humans, regardless of sexual preference.  I would like to live in a world where makeshift campsites in the middle of downtown areas and quaint, sound-byte worthy slogans don’t replace true and actual fundamental changes to the manner in which daily lives are conducted.  I want to be smart enough with numbers to understand how long it will take for a more economically-just society to exist on this planet. But but but.  The bigger and grander thing I would like to think about is how gorgeous portions of the earth look, especially the parts devoid of human life.  I want to remind you that a good book on a nice beach is a simple and (nearly) free joy that can make life worth it, even in dire times.  I want you to think about love.  And about the way you may be taking for granted the fact that you do not currently have skin cancer.  Make dinner for your parents.  Walk amongst vultures.  Swallow your skin.  Paint like Alice Neel:

We are playing some shows (look to the right).  We are mending bones.  We are.

Everlong,

AEJBIV et al

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Ever Reve permalink
    May 31, 2012 5:00 am

    Love, love, love the way you write. Forever inspiring.

  2. Zack permalink
    May 31, 2012 5:23 am

    Just when I thought you were dead. I missed you all.

  3. Tabak permalink
    May 31, 2012 7:43 am

    It is the with the greatest thrill that I will be in California before i depart to Europe in time to see you play at gnarmageddon, as well As you creating another musical masterpiece that would drop bach’s jaw. (especially if you use my voice on the album again.) my excitement radiates here in Portland!

    Best,
    Josh tabak

  4. May 31, 2012 8:51 am

    Glad you’re all alive and (somewhat) well. What time do shows in America start, again? I believe I’ll be able to make it to the Santa Ana show during my 15 day trip to the West Coast. I am beyond content. Dai cazzo!

    • June 4, 2012 5:30 pm

      Mara!

      We play in the evening, ’round 7 or 8pm. I love that your schedule fits so nicely with ours. I will let you know more specifics when I get them. Fly safe. Miss you. Al.

      • June 5, 2012 3:32 pm

        Hi Al!
        The advantages of working in a school is that you usually get the summer off 🙂 I love that every time I decide to take a trip somewhere, your band decides to play that same weekend. Sweet coincidence of Port-Au-Prince? Mi mancate tutti.

  5. Beud permalink
    June 4, 2012 5:39 am

    You’re “heroic”

  6. johnny permalink
    June 10, 2012 1:48 am

    ok, ill do it. ill be that guy to ask if you have an idea of when the album will be out.

  7. dude man permalink
    June 20, 2012 7:00 am

    1 ,we are the people 2,we are united 3, the occupation is not leaving.

  8. Omar Romero permalink
    July 6, 2012 10:09 pm

    Sam McPheeters was really funny and charming and you should be sad you missed it. What sport were you playing?

  9. kolakosky permalink
    July 9, 2012 1:58 am

    Dude get well soon, unlike Ricky Rubio hope you’ll be ok for the Olympics 😉

  10. jimbo permalink
    July 13, 2012 8:17 pm

    Dear sirs, thank you so much for your work thus far and please for the love of genetics release another album.

  11. egaR permalink
    July 16, 2012 11:05 pm

    I was on this site like 537 times in the last 3 days, and I just now read about the new record release.
    All I have to say is:”FUCK YEAH!!!”

Leave a Reply

