Skip to content

Not-so-gorgeous brains

September 26, 2011

Dear Nile Theater lightly-carpeted cement floor,

Unfortunately, you proved a poor hostess for the likes of my skull and its formerly-but-now-not-so gorgeous brains.  I applaud you, though, on your well-executed ability to extract a concussion from my life.  Only twice have I been privy to such feats of folly; once when I was five and fell off of some outdoor railing onto a set of brick steps at my grandparents’ old house, and another time whilst snowboarding in Heavenly on the CA side after I caught an edge near the bottom of the slope which sent the rail of my rented K2 snowboard hurtling into my 13-year-old cranium.  It neither scenario, nor yesterday’s as it turned out, was I rushed to the hospital to run CAT/PET scans, and yet, somehow, I feel as though such a trip may well have proven beneficial.  Something inside tells me that there may be some wiring knocked loose.  Such facts would explain a lot.  A lot.

But.  Within These Walls Festival was well-worth the drive and heat and contusions.  We are humbled by those of you that took the time to meet and greet us, and especially to those of you that flew such far distances to see our slipshod act perform.  I’ve been told (though, in all honesty, I have a hard time recollecting) that I mis-worded some notions of ours up on stage regarding homophobia, and for that I now attempt atonement: our band is notoriously against homophobia and hope, collectively, that you yourself do more to bring us closer to the future wherein we all sit back and have a laugh over our current-and-shameful prevailing opinion of homosexual love and its practices.  I’m sure I said other dumb things, to which: see the aforementioned lightly-carpeted floor.  Sincere thanks to Michelle and Emily at Mantooth Group for putting the entire shindig together, to all our old friend (Hi, Danny!) that we saw, and especially to Cory for picking my KO’d ass off the ground.

We also played a show in Pomona.  It was siq.  La Bella played.  They were tight.  So was Media Blitz and Seahaven.  Here’s what our set looked like:

 

Now what?  Well.  Sit back and relax.  Do other, more important shit with (y)our lives.  We had a long talk on the way back from Mesa and we’ve got some good ideas to attempt to shake out of our brains.  Nothing solid, yet, other than some shows with the ever-elusive Graf Orlock in December, so we’ll stay mum until things are solidified.  But, good things.  Brave things.  Better things.  Until then, GO BUY SOME OF OUR NEW MERCH.

Love,

Al

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 6:41 am

    Hey its kyle, i just wanted to thank you so much for coming to my hometown and showing all of those who dared to watch, how a real band plays a motherfucking set. All of my friends who watched you empty your lungs on stage and dive head first into that floor were so blown away by your stage presence (or lack-there-of) that they all claim they are now huge fans. Long story short, thank you for being you.

  2. shithead permalink
    September 27, 2011 11:21 am

    aloha from australia. bought a shirt i don’t remember when, maybe a few weeks ago i am uncertain. but just wondering the estimated time of arrival for said shirt? good. please visit soon. like real soon.
    regards
    late bloomer.

  3. Ben permalink
    September 27, 2011 2:01 pm

    Greetings from the KSA:

    High point of the video – Al’s failed PA dive.

    Low point of the video – The shirtless, shaved head dude that looked like a love child of Richard Mull (ala Nght Court era) and Baraka (ala Mortal Kombat 2).

  4. Ben permalink
    September 27, 2011 2:03 pm

    *Moll

    Sorry about that. Proofreading was never my strong point.

  5. Ben permalink
    September 27, 2011 2:05 pm

    Once again proved by my inability to correctly type “Night” as well ; )

  6. Alex permalink
    October 14, 2011 9:47 am

    Where’s the video of the stage dive?

Leave a Reply

