Skip to content

Ashes fall and [we’re] rising up again

September 7, 2011

Buenas noches, motherfuckers.  I’m feeling like an asshole tonight.  Mostly I’m fixated upon the breaking up of the Atletico Madrid goal scoring machinery on the forward line.  My ability to enjoy Kun Aguero and Forlan on their own right is dwindling and I’m constantly yearning for a return to their partnership.  There’s some consolation in the fact of Real’s loss to Lavante, I suppose, but any involvement there requires me having to witness with mine own eyes the horrific facial hair that Casillas is sporting these days.  Alas.

Today’s saving grace comes from the likes of Sir Thomas More and his nifty Utopia, a book I should have long-ago read but am only now completing in preparation for further academic pursuits.  What most I’m struck with (and this is a characteristic that accompanies most “great” literature, so far as I’m concerned) is the manner in which passages written nearly five-hundred years ago scream so formidably of the present day hocus pocus we are made to suffer through.  I present to you Exhibit A:

“…I don’t see how you can ever get any real justice or prosperity, so long as there’s private property, and everything’s judged in terms of money – unless you consider it just for the worst sort of people to have the best living conditions, or unless you’re prepared to call a country prosperous, in which all the wealth is owned by a tiny minority – who aren’t entirely happy even so, while everyone else is simply miserable.”

Ah.  Yes.  Disparity.  Pittance.  Daily sloshing through the tribulations of back-breaking, groveling, unemployment, and cleaning the marble floors of the rich for a fast food lunch.  Ahem.

In order to productively enact a momentary escape from the yawnings of our current daily lives, though, we are prepared to offer unto you three live performances whereat you can fully immerse yourselves in our songs and ugly mugs.  The info is as follows:

Thursday September 22
Pomona, CA @ Casa Jimenez (280 W. 3rd Street)
w/ Seahaven, La Bella, and Media Blitz
 
Friday September 23
San Diego, CA @ TBA
w/ Seahaven, Grievers
 
Saturday September 24
Mesa, AZ @ The Nile Theater 
w/ Stretch Arm Strong, et al things Within These Walls
 

And, in other, better, more-pleasant-to-your-ears news, I offer you this song, which is quite surely my favorite song of this year:

Al

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Hector permalink
    September 8, 2011 6:16 am

    Guys! I’m from Mexico and i was looking to find a way to bring you down here. Mexicali is about two hours from San Diego. I can find someone to hook you up in Tijuana and then get you guys down here.
    The problem is that I’m not going to be around the city those days (the 22th and 23rd) but if you want to or if you are interested we can scheduale a show here and in Tijuana! 🙂 e-mail me to sanchez-hector@live.com 🙂 Take care
    Saludos desde Mexico

  2. mike permalink
    September 9, 2011 10:44 pm

    play some shows in the bay with gorlock!!

  3. jorge permalink
    September 13, 2011 11:54 pm

    Any plans in playing Fresno soon?

  4. September 23, 2011 7:10 am

    Dangers.

    You make me angry. That’s about all there is to say.

    Thanks for tonight.

    • September 23, 2011 11:59 pm

      Is this so-called “anger” that you arrive at met with hostility or relief? Meaning, does this anger that we allegedly inspire cause you strife or, rather, are you comforted by such feelings and, as such, grateful to our coterie of musicians for having had a hand in providing such feelings unto you? Personally, anger is an emotion rife with with tension and stress and frustration. Whilst in my younger years, I admired anger and tried in earnest to harness its ability to bring about momentous change within my life, I am now less sure that anger is the best emotion to endure so continually in one’s life. It, certainly, has a specific place and value within my daily comings and goings, and it is still certainly the underlying emotion that gets me up in the morning. However, I would like to offer the notion of love or “love” as a necessary foil for anger. One must also cultivate his soul in a climate devoid of total acrimony lest he be dragged to the gates of the miserly, flabbergasted, and ineffective. Anger has its place, surely, but it must be counterpoint-ed with tenderness, thoughtfulness, and reprieves from total underlying moral destruction.

      Rock on, though.
      al

      • September 26, 2011 7:59 pm

        Al,
        My love is directed towards humanity. My anger is directed towards certain people. Those individuals are so often members of the same group that lacks the same love of humanity I (hope that I) possess. Anger creates the desire to inspire in others that same love that I occasionally feel. It is not, however, the tool to be used when putting that change into action. Simply put, anger is what keeps me from falling into apathy.
        Pardon my pretentiousness.

  5. Tabak permalink
    September 23, 2011 11:21 pm

    Rugby>Soccer.

    Come back to Portland.

Leave a Reply

