Skip to content

Get Greedy (oh, and fuck facebook, right?)

March 16, 2011

Hey all,

The world is shaking to pieces. What better way to die than in your very own Dangler-z crewneck jumpa? We’ve had a number of emails requesting us to print more of the Equality longsleeves and the Masereel sweatshirts. Ask and ye shall receive. Our webstore is freshly stocked with the old hits. In case you’ve been eyeing the Aussie tour-shirt or the brain/gunshot/hipster looking shirt, we’re down to just a few and won’t be re-printing those, so hustle if you’re craving those dainties.

Thanks to all who made it out to our show with forgetters. Thanks to forgetters for playing an unforgettersble show (despite my impressive level of drunkenness) and thanks to Sean Carlson for hooking us up that particular show (and aforementioned drunkenness), you’re a good man and you do shit right, good sir.

Along the lines of updates: We’re setting up our Europe tour. Look for us all over that continent in the month of July. We likely won’t be playing before then, but will instead be at work trying to write a few more shits to scratch into vinyl. That’s Al’s department, of course, so if we don’t come through on that end… then fuck him, right?

Also, for anyone who may be expecting merch that’s a bit late: we switched over our mailing responsibilities when I moved out to Auckland, so a few things got caught in the transition. Rest assured, everything’s gone out and if you haven’t gotten things yet, expect them in the next week or so. Our apologies.

In has-nothing-to-do-with-anything news. I hate the shit out of facebook. I really do. Name me one other thing that’s effectively stolen more time away from otherwise potential-laden punks, radicals, anarchists, world-beaters, & c.. Go ahead, I’m waiting… that’s right, not a damn thing (maybe masturbation.. maybe). Those choice few, who if they could manage to do something useful with even just a quarter of the time they spend instead promoting their latest and greatest bouffantery, finding varied synonyms for expressing their boredom and stress in varied clever status updates, and other wise shitting their lives away, could probably do some fancy things. I mean, I’m guilty of similar things, and some worse, but at least I’ve got to resort to hours of watching United, St. Pauli, and the Canaries to opt-out of life. Seriously, get rid of your facebook and read a book. Every time you feel the urge to show someone a picture of yourself and tell them how you’re doing, make a friend or send us an email. Al will respond, he’s lonelier than you.

Some fun articles about facebook (yeah the author’s a heap of shit, but his articles have a damn good point): here, and here. I know, I know, it’s like, longer than a tweet. I dare you to find the 30 minutes to read them.

Yeah, I also know, it’s a good way of staying in touch, and how else could people possibly know why you’re currently depressed at any given moment, and blah fucking blah? Write a letter, grab a phone, or maybe you could stand to lose a few “friends”?

Tell you what. Cancel your facebook, and we’ll include a free CD (Anger or Messy, Isn’t It?) with any order you make off our webstore. Just order what you’d otherwise, and then send us an email witnessing your freedom and we’ll include our shitty CD. Then enjoy that jog, read some Zola, watch Z, or just “z” what’s happening in the world. Go find a smile; they’re usually outdoors.

I dare you,

Tim

P.S. – LOL @ the Gooners.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Guts permalink
    March 17, 2011 5:11 pm

    Damn, still no XXL merch. I guess it’s my fault for being a fattie.

  2. boner honkfarts permalink
    March 18, 2011 4:03 am

    my life has improved dramatically since i deleted my facebook last november. i’ve already got the CDs so cheers.

  3. boner honkfarts permalink
    March 18, 2011 4:04 am

    PS, those are great articles but it was foucault’s ‘panopticon’ that did it for me.

    • March 18, 2011 6:36 am

      Cheers indeed. It is a serious head-scratching the amount of information we as individuals provide as private information (to be later sold) to people and companies we don’t know and don’t trust. I suppose people don’t know about spokeo.com, which can be scary at worst and laughably incorrect at best.

  4. gtfkd permalink
    March 18, 2011 8:35 pm

    Chicharito saves the day again with those two sweet goals. Hope you’re enjoying your time south of the equator.

    • March 27, 2011 11:56 pm

      Hey man!

      It’s… interesting here. Amazingly beautiful, but hard as shit to get any job. These racist kiwi fucks have been burned one too many times by traveling lazy Americans like myself.

      If United’s perch atop the table weren’t so precarious I’d maybe mind that it’s never clear where the next goal is coming from. As it is, I’ll take what I can get. Especially as Pauli keeps tumbling down the tables towards relegation.

      Fuck,

      Tim

  5. Jared permalink
    March 24, 2011 4:30 pm

    Z is a good fucking movie

  6. ewok permalink
    March 25, 2011 11:58 pm

    Do you know if there are any photos from the Forgetters show up? Might be easier to find if someone had a facebook 😛

    • March 28, 2011 12:01 am

      I haven’t seen any. That said, I’m not the most savvy at eHunting, so I’m sure they’re out there, not of us, but of forgetters.

      Obviously I’ve got various stalker Facebook accounts and spend 4 hours a day on those so that I can lurk while criticizing, right? Isn’t that the way to go?

    • April 27, 2011 10:56 pm

      You did, didn’t you.

      Cheeky.

      • ewok permalink
        June 5, 2011 5:09 pm

        Nah, I backed out. I’d never strip you of your legitamacy like that.

  7. roldie permalink
    March 27, 2011 5:52 pm

    those articles were a good read. i really like the first one. id be interested in some good book recs if you have them.

    oh and i never had a facebook it always seemed kind of pointless to me the idea of constantly telling strangers what you’re doing every 15 minutes.

    • March 28, 2011 12:05 am

      Right? I had Facebook when it first started out at just the Ivy Leagues and U of C or wherever it was, in like 2002 or something. Even though I got rid of it after a month or so of not using it, it’s somehow been hacked or vampired itself back to life a few times in the past few years, causing all types of old friends and enemies to request my “friendship”, forcing me to then spurn them and write to Facebook to “seriously, end this shit” (which is remarkably hard to get them to do).

      What kind of book? I’m always willing to spit out a million recommendations, just point and aim me… fiction, travel, philosophy?

      Be well,

      Tim

      • roldie permalink
        March 30, 2011 3:04 am

        Lately I’ve been wanting to read some good fiction. Something with a good message you know?
        Any recommendations are welcome.

  8. March 31, 2011 12:36 pm

    FINALLY – someone awesome who hates facebook too. Everytime I want to go to a show or I want to contact friends it’s like ‘You have to have Facebook to get info about this show’ or ‘Oh sorry we can’t meet up if you don’t have facebook.”

    It’s such an overrated annoying social media hype, that I hope it will find its peace soon.

    Hope to catch you on Fluff Fest!

  9. Jelle permalink
    April 17, 2011 2:29 pm

    Who is doing the booking for your European tour?

  10. Kevin permalink
    April 17, 2011 9:51 pm

    Any Belgian tourdates this summer?
    Hope to catch you guys soon.

  11. Pete permalink
    April 18, 2011 12:21 pm

    Bladdy looking forward to the UK summer dates! Ordered some merch what seems like a while ago, does it usually take quite this time? Oh, if you need support for your UK dates, my band will happily oblige 😉

  12. Brennan permalink
    April 23, 2011 10:11 pm

    Its official, Im finally deleting my facebook because i have realize the error of my ways and society at large. How can i receive the free cd and prove that Im not just a fraud or a con to get a free cd? Please contact me with more information!

    -Anonymous Theorist

    • April 27, 2011 11:00 pm

      My sarcasm radar is lagging. If you email us your address, and you’re serious, we’ll send a CD. That simple. Which one?

  13. Stephen H permalink
    April 24, 2011 2:20 am

    Solid articles. I’m glad to see punk/hardcore folks reading The Chronicle.

  14. Holly (aka Just a minor threat zine) permalink
    May 13, 2011 7:41 am

    I can’t believe I completely missed this post. It would have made my birthday that much better (I turned 23 on this day) and I could have ditched my Facebook for a free CD.

  15. lucy permalink
    August 17, 2011 6:08 am

    suicidemachine.org

    old news?

Leave a Reply

