Skip to content

You Are Invited!

January 14, 2011

I just did a whole post about a band that used to fly under the moniker The Dismemberment Plan and about this song:

The basic point that I made was that, while this song really doesn’t do it for many people, it also brings me right back to, oh, say 2002 and my friends Bri and Kyle (they are siblings) and how I fought tooth and nail with them about how horrible this band was and how sad it was that a great band name was wasted on such a heap.  All that sentiment until I saw them live at a dance hall of sorts on Haverford College’s campus in Philadelphia, and more specifically until I saw them play this song:

What I am is a sucker for drummers.  And what I also am is a sucker for the little hi-hat trickery employed by the D-Plan drummer on this “Time Bomb” song.  And then what I was trying to do was to get you all to admit to yourselves that you were and are interested in watching (with great, rapt attention) the maneuvers of James, our old friend and new drummer, as he strikes the mold (literally) off of his drum sticks.  Check to the right for some sweet shows. And take note: we’re coming to Europe this summer.

Also, this is a funny picture:

Subsequently,

Al

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    January 16, 2011 7:37 am

    Please play a few US shows before you head to Europe.. I won’t give up asking till you play near me.. also I haven’t gotten the merch I ordered quite a while ago..

  2. Katie permalink
    January 18, 2011 8:33 am

    Al Brown,

    I know you don’t know who I am, but I saw you guys plays tonight. You said something that really resonated with me, and I’m not sure if you’ll even read this, but I just felt the need to share how much I appreciated your words. Of course, I always appreciate what you have to say at shows, but when you were talking about promoting open-mindedness to some of our future children, it really hit close to home for me. I went to a Christian school for five years and every ideal promoted in that school did everything but encourage individuality and free thought. I hated myself when I went there because of who they made me think I was, and the only thing redeeming me from actually believing the lies was the attitude of my mother. She always encouraged me to be who I was and to chase after things and question everything that crossed my path. Because of her being that way, I will also be that kind of parent. Thank you for making music, thank you for speaking your mind, thank you for being you.

    In the room the women come and go,
    Talking of Michelangelo.

    – a grateful fan.

  3. sofia. permalink
    January 25, 2011 9:51 am

    europe at last!can’t wait to see you guys-wherever you’ll come i’m gonna be there.(try and play ieperfest as well-it’s an amazing festival)
    these news just made my day.

  4. Mara permalink
    January 26, 2011 7:37 am

    Any idea on which month(s) you’ll be in Europe? I bought a ticket to go to California in June, but if I’m there while Dangers is here, then I’m definitely changing my departure date. Two years without Dangers is long enough! And is there any chance you’ll be coming to Italy?

Leave a Reply

