Skip to content

New Merchandise. Cold wear. Plans.

October 7, 2010

Hey there,

 

New merch available.  Crewnecks are back in, so that’s fun.  You should get one.  Seriously, it would look SO cute on you.  With your hair up like you do sometimes?  Totally.

 

Neil from Ghostlimb put us on a hiatus, so we can’t play until he gives us the go ahead.  When he does, we’re going to likely be playing a benefit at 924 Gilman for people who could use it more than you or I.  We may try and have a Santa Cruz date as well.  It’s all just talk now, so let’s not get too excited, k babe?

 

Alex (a.k.a. Teenager) may have died his hair red also.  May have grown a bit too.  Might be a rumor though, who knows.  We’ll figure it out if we play a show again anytime soon.  Teens and their phases, right?

 

Al officially passed his thesis, meaning he now is the proud father of a beautiful MFA from Columbia.  It weighs 2.3 oz and will soon be going up on his refrigerator next to a picture from Jo.   Congratulations to that shithead!  While we’re on the topic, for those who discredit/boycott us in protest against our educational history, maybe it helps that we only gained entrance to Princeton due to his skin color and me playing football?  No?  Not at all?  You’re right, you’re right, various parents had money.  Good point.  No, you win.  Let’s just drop it, OK? 😉  We’re cool, right?

 

Question of the week (multiple choice):

What’s the best radical(ish) sci-fi novel?

1) Dispossessed By Ursula K. Le Guin (gets my vote)

2) Red Mars By Kim Stanley Robinson (the whole trilogy counts if you insist)

3) Ender’s Game By Orson Scott Card

4) Other (share in the comments)

 

Here’s to retiring at 29 and living life with a book on my roof.  I’m not going to work tomorrow, how about you suckers?

 

Eh,

 

Tim

 

Oh hey: A genuine thank you to those who put on, attended, or played the Ink & Dagger show.  It was a pretty special night and one of those few times when punk can make you feel a bit positive about things.  Here’s to hoping the 6th Street Warehouse stays accessible and that we keep taking care of it.

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 4:09 am

    I almost bought “The Dispossessed” today, but I did not. Instead, I bought the collected short works of Gordon Lish. I also bought Henry David Thoreau’s journal, though, so don’t get too pissy. And a book called “Tinkers” which won some big award this year and I feel as though may actually be deserving of it. From the list provided, the only I’ve read is “Ender’s Game.” That book was one of the few that “got me.” I bit hard and was tricked, duped, etc. But it’s rare when a book dupes you like that and you don’t get uppety about it, you get phased, brainfucked, headcased. I was not mad at Mr. Orson Scott Card (except for having a name that’s way better than mine). I was impressed and moved. Salamander Army! Philosophically speaking, I think perhaps what I took away from the book was that my actions have many effects, even when I’m not aware of them. I guess I’m older now and can see little links between the shit I purchase or the airplanes I travel on and the ravage they cause to the earth et al but that is a lesson intrinsic to that book. Bravo.

    Why no Fahrenheit 451? Or Orwell? Or Brave New World? Or Philip K. Dick?

    Just wondering.

    al

    • October 8, 2010 5:01 am

      I said “4) Other”, prickface. Your list of others would all qualify. I also make the rules. Also fuck you. I think we should continue public dialogue like this. Uppity is spelled as such, and I know b/c I am. Hey, think people that listen to us know that just as all Graf’s lyrics are taken from movies, ours are all from Francis Bacon and Umberto Eco?

      Lastly, no you didn’t. You’ve never read one thing I’ve suggested.

      Because.

      They don’t.

      Write.

      Like this.

      And because my books don’t look good in the back pocket of a hipster.

      ;),

      Tim

    • Adam permalink
      December 10, 2010 9:30 pm

      Since you all are SO into reading, and since I am SO into this band, I thought I might badger you with my self-conscious suggestion of In the Hand of Dante by Nick Tosches. You may have already heard of it (probably read it too), but nevertheless I wanted to say something.

  2. Zack permalink
    October 8, 2010 5:13 am

    I’m in the middle of re-reading The Dispossessed right now. Nice.

  3. Cameron permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:13 pm

    Too bad Mr. Card is a homophobic asshole. I loved Ender’s Game and loved it, but found out later about his ideology and that kinda ruined it for me.

    To answer the question, “Dangerous Visions” and “Again, Dangerous Visions” by Harlan Ellison are amazing collections. “The Big Space Fuck” by Vonnegut in “Again, D.V.” is probably one of the greatest short stories about sperm ever.

    • October 24, 2010 7:13 pm

      Cameron,

      you should read “the Death of the Author” by Roland Barthes. It Argues against literary criticism that incorporates the perspective and personal life of the author when dissecting the intentions of the text he/she creates.

      It is hard to not obviously do that, but by looking at literature as its own being rather than an extension of the person who wrote it, there is much more depth that can be found in a piece of work. Not to say that doing the opposite of what Barthes suggests is “wrong”, but instead just another path we could take in understanding.

      I think hardcore and punk, being so intimately personal lyrically, skews this style of interpretation for us. It is almost impossible to separate lyricist from lyrics because what makes hardcore and punk so vibrant and powerful is the person screaming(their feelings) at others. How can you separate a person screaming from their words that expresses (their) feelings? It is impossible, and would defeat the purpose of hardcore entirely, reducing it to a bunch of mindless fools screaming at each other(which in a sense, could also not be such a bad thing if interpreted differently. see what I am getting at here?).

      So in that, it makes sense why we attach this way of interpretation to other forms of art, because it is what we know and are so intimately familiar with. I am just suggesting there are other ways we can make an approach.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_the_Author

      oh and Brave New World is wonderful. As is The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials trilogy)

      (not to be confused with that horrible “movie” it spawned into)

      Dangers, please make another attempt at the east coast as soon as you can.

  4. Cameron permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:14 pm

    and by “I loved Ender’s Game and loved it,…” I mean “I read Ender’s Game and loved it,..”

    It’s way too early in the morning.

  5. Gillen permalink
    October 13, 2010 8:49 am

    don’t forget about the foundation trilogy. asimov makes some impressive ideas about sociology and imperialism come to life through these stories. psychohistory rules.

  6. Devon permalink
    October 15, 2010 6:14 am

    Does Gravity’s Rainbow count as radical science fiction? How about Infinite Jest?

    • Al permalink*
      October 15, 2010 8:29 am

      Gravity’s Rainbow was written in my hometown a few years before my birth.

      Is.

      All

      Al

  7. Dylan permalink
    October 16, 2010 10:53 pm

    What was Al’s thesis on?

  8. Christopher Novas permalink
    October 17, 2010 6:31 pm

    Does Al have any of his writing published (either online or something I can purchase)?
    I’m interested in his writing outside of Dangers.

    • October 18, 2010 4:01 pm

      Al’s thesis doesn’t really count, as it was a collection of short stories. Mainly concerned with Lumpy Dutters, this work is not yet for sale. That said, I’m sure if you emailed that sucker, he’d send you some scatological fiction.

      – Tim

  9. Christopher Novas permalink
    October 18, 2010 5:58 pm

    So should I leave it at the dangers email or does he have a personal email so that I can get in touch with him?

  10. October 24, 2010 5:14 pm

    I find it hard to argue with The Dispossessed, though I think a good case could be made for John Brunner’s Stand on Zanzibar or something of Ballard’s which aren’t that explicitly radical in their politics but I think there’s a great deal of implicit radicalism in most of the New Wave of SF that filters down through the cyberpunk movement and beyond. My personal favourites are probably Ken MacLeod’s The Star Fraction, Lucius Shepard’s Life During Wartime and Hal Duncan’s insane ‘cubist-fantasy’ duology The Book of All Hours which has less specific anti-war or anarchist themes than those other two books and deals more with the overarching concept of rebellion and the rebel through infinite folds in reality.

    I still haven’t got around to reading the Red Mars trilogy though I’ve had it on my shelf for ages and while I love Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card can kind of go fuck himself.

  11. Nina permalink
    November 4, 2010 5:45 am

    How long is said hiatus expected to be?

  12. Trevor permalink
    November 5, 2010 7:01 am

    It would be awesome if you guys could play at UCSC or set up some sort of Santa Cruz date.

  13. James permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:47 am

    Play a show at my butt, nerds. I choose Fahrenheit 451 or Frankenstein.

Leave a Reply

