Skip to content

Ink & Dagger

September 10, 2010

I once lived on the east coast of the United States of America.  Whilst living there, the lore of the vampire-disguised band Ink & Dagger came and went in the air as often as the smell of oil-based raw sewage and frostbite.  But I never once had the opportunity to see that band.  As of next Friday, that will (at least in some amalgam) change:

Friday September 17th @ 6th Street Warehouse

1269 E 6th Street Los Angeles CA 90744

Ink & Dagger

DANGERS

Comadre

+ another band that’s good

I’m not one for reunions, but there is a Philly streak in the ones that I’ve endured (and, actually, enjoyed).  I saw the first Kid Dynamite reunion at the First Unitarian Church in Philly in 2003.  It was great.  And Wagenschutz had an Animal tattoo that made my night.  I also once saw Bad Brains play with John Joseph doing vox duties at CBGB’s with Steve Buscemi circle pitting and Joan Jett opening up the show.  Righteous!  Last week I saw 7 Seconds for the first time and it was great.   I’m anxious to see Ink & Dagger next week, and hope you are, too.

It did remind of some bands that I feel are very underappreciated.  So here’s some media:

  • The Dedication and (what eventually morphed into) Sex Positions were always one of my favorite bands.  The Dedication put out a record called “Youth Murder Anthems” that you can still get on Deathwish, Inc. and the s/t SexPos release is on there, too.  Both feature amazing drums (which is the only thing I really listen to in “loud” music) and a fairly unique sound and song structure.  Swell.
  • The song “Monkey Trick” by The Jesus Lizard is heinously under-listened-to.  God.
  • I used to listen to the Breathe In song “Amygdala” a lot for about a year.
  • If you can get your hands on the demo by the SF band Treason, you are a lucky human.
  • This Cat Power performance I watch about once a month.  She’s the only musical artist that made me stop everything I was doing the first time I listened to her.

Maybe I’ll add to this list.

See you next week.

Some unplayed songs for you.

al / DANGERS

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Steven permalink
    September 10, 2010 11:30 am

    Comadre’s blog just said they wouldn’t be playing the show. =/

    Either way seriously contemplating coming down from the bay area for this.

  2. luis permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:58 am

    what time is the show?
    is comadre playing the show too?

  3. omar romero permalink
    September 14, 2010 3:00 am

    I cannot wait for Ink and Dagger and you guys too, I guess.

  4. paisley permalink
    September 14, 2010 8:40 pm

    I really wish you guys would play in Portland. I would seriously appreciate it.

    • September 27, 2010 9:12 am

      I second that. Come to Portland so I can flip out!

  5. mike permalink
    September 16, 2010 12:16 am

    what time is the showww?

  6. Megz permalink
    September 17, 2010 6:08 pm

    8pm

  7. jasonfromsimi permalink
    September 18, 2010 8:14 am

    thanks for comming out . so much appreciated. thank you

  8. September 27, 2010 9:13 am

    So stoked you mentioned the Dedication, al. I was just listening to them tonight. Amazing album!

  9. September 27, 2010 6:28 pm

    we played in portland at the beginning of june, come on, you slept on that shit

  10. John permalink
    September 28, 2010 6:58 am

    I see that it’s already been said, but I would love a Portland date..

  11. Tabak permalink
    September 30, 2010 9:47 pm

    Im so stoked how people besides me that i dont even know are asking for a Portland date.

    Come the fuck back.

  12. Alison permalink
    October 6, 2010 5:18 pm

    Philly is not so bad afterall.
    -the other Al

  13. Gillen permalink
    October 13, 2010 8:54 am

    stop being in CA all the time and actually COME to philly. to play a show. or several.

    p.s. don’t sleep on that sex positions record, kids.

  14. paisley permalink
    November 8, 2010 5:11 am

    june was a long time ago.! COME BACK.!

Leave a Reply

