Skip to content

Gay Rocking Chairs

April 7, 2010

Dear reader,

I am funding discrimination.  Chances are, if you pay into Social Security, you are as well.  The fact is that the surviving individual of same-sex couples are not currently allowed access to their deceased partner’s funds.  In heterosexual relationships, even some non-married individuals are granted access to these same funds.  As it is, Social Security is on its last throes and its practice and implementation is cause for much criticism.  However, that doesn’t mean that its distribution should be a discriminatory practice.

My roommate is helping to organize the Rock For Equality event this Sunday in Los Angeles.  Basically, you show up, grab a sign, walk to the Federal Building, and yell at idiot humans as they walk or drive by.  Some people will also rock in rocking chairs (which, I think, is to emphasize the fact that this practice is affecting elderly gay couples the most).  Anyway, we here at DANGERS love gay rights activism and love rocking so we thought we’d suggest you go.  Here’s the info:

Date: Sunday, April 11, 2010

Starting Location: L.A. Gay & Lesbian Center, 1625 N. Schrader Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90028. Click here for map.

Sign-In and Distribution of Protest Signs: 9:30 a.m.

Opening Rally: 10:00 a.m. with special guest, U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer.

Followed by: One-mile march to Social Security building on 1122 Vine St., Los Angeles, CA 90038 for protest demonstration and rock-in. Click here for map.

The march is expected to begin at approximately 10:45 a.m., and the demonstration will occur from approximately 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., including a brief speaking program.

Al / DANGERS

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin permalink
    April 8, 2010 2:14 pm

    I’m loving the links you added into the lyrics, awesome stuff.

    It’s funny, I was listening to Botch a few days ago and I was thinking “ohhh, that’s where that Dangers lyric is from”.

    Quick question. That beat from “Breakbeat”, that’s “Milk It”, right?

    • April 8, 2010 7:02 pm

      Glad you liked ’em. It is “Milk It”. I’ll need to put up a link to that too! Oof. It sorta gets rid of some of the fun, but I think I like transparency more than mystique.

      • April 9, 2010 11:47 am

        Why “Milk It?” anyway?

        I sincerely dislike Nirvana =/.

      • April 10, 2010 5:07 pm

        Nirvana is my favorite band of all time.

        We tried to come up with a better drum beat for that song but Adam, our drummer at the time, agreed with me that “Milk It” has one of the more unique rhythms ever. I guess you have to be an old fogie to like that band nowadays.

      • April 10, 2010 6:15 pm

        Not necessarily.

        I’ve just never managed to see the big role they played in much of anything except ruining the much more talented music at the time.

        IMO.

        I have and will always much rather prefer talented the hair metal/death metal vocalists/guitarists/drummers over someone like Nirvana.

      • Kevin permalink
        April 10, 2010 11:21 pm

        My guitar player is your age and Nirvana is his all-time favorite band as well.

        Although not my favorite band, Nirvana played a huge role in my life, as they were (at the time) my favorite band, next to Green Day, when I taught myself how to play guitar. I heavily like all of their albums, sans “Bleach” (which is blasphemy to my guitar player). I’m more of an “In Utero” guy.

      • April 11, 2010 7:48 am

        To each his own.

        I’m not hating, it’s just the many Nirvana fans i’ve come across are usually the preachy “They changed so much and were so unique” kind of fans.

        In which I don’t agree at all with.

        But I understand that many people fell in love them seeing as they were one of those first bands people used to get into a lot of music or as you said, even play guitar/any instrument for that matter.

        I just don’t prefer them, musically.

        Either way, how do you know my age?

        Haha.

  2. April 8, 2010 5:04 pm

    • April 8, 2010 7:04 pm

      Couple thoughts:

      a) People who sign up for the military need more than just someone to “give a damn.”
      b) Anna Paquin is bisexual?
      c) Eric Roberts is a virile man, isn’t he? I think I’ll watch Best Of The Best again soon.

      al

      • April 9, 2010 11:46 am

        No opinion, just a forward.

        Actors make me feel sheisty.

  3. April 10, 2010 6:15 pm

  4. Kevin permalink
    April 11, 2010 3:10 pm

    Because, I’ve known you your entire life. I’m the shadow that trails you in utter silence. I’m the breath you hear but never feel…

    Hahaha. I jest…

    I think I might have accidentally clicked “reply” to your box. I meant to reply to Al (I think the post he made a week ago said he just turned 27 or something).

    But, I definitely agree with you. Tastes are tastes for a reason. There are bands that are practically “quintessential” to punk, hardcore, or music general that I just can’t get into for some reason.

    My favorite band is The Beatles, and I know far too many people who cannot stand them (and they’re probably the biggest band, ever).

  5. Rob permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:57 am

    i don’t know how i missed this, shit. how did it go anyhow?
    before urging and then waiting for them to change the law on this.
    think we might be able to organize and raise funds to at least help struggling widows/widowers for the time being for starts?

Leave a Reply

